The Dark Side Of The Finance Industry – An Interesting Update

An article in the local press commenting on a Senate committee’s consideration of privacy and credit management issues mentioned the name of a solicitor working for a Consumer Credit Legal Centre, so on the spur of the moment, I wrote to her and suggested that she might like to look at this blog.  The next thing I knew, I was asked to make a submission to the Senate myself and this I have done.  While I have no qualms about the publication of my material (after all, everything I say is supported by twelve fat files of documents), the Senate has listed it as confidential, so it cannot be read publically at this stage.  However, the gist of my submission is that an applicant for credit must give explicit or implied permission before a prospective lender can approach other finance organisations and that the applicant is entitled to see what they have said, so that errors and abuses can be corrected.  I even went so far as to say that an audit trail of decisions made by a computer system should be included.  Finally, I have suggested that any litigation relating to abuse of the system or careless and inappropriate application of the system should be freed of any time limitation (after all, my own experience shows that it can take an awful lot of money and time to expose bad practices and this was largely due, I think, to the other parties relying on the Statute of Limitations to protect them).

Let us see what happens !

About jimthegeordie

I was born in the north of England and am a Geordie. Geordies are celts who are noted for having long bodies with short arms and legs. After working in UK, Africa and Australia as a civil engineer and IT contractor I am now retired and living in a beautiful wine-making area. I am the patriarch of a wonderful family, of whom I am inordinately proud.
This entry was posted in Finance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

